357. Maslin-Tudor-Martin House (FY 965)
1100 W. Fourth Street
Contributing, ca. 1917
This house is one of the largest and most pronounced examples in the West End of the popular Colonial Revival-Craftsman stylistic combination. It is a two-story frame dwelling with an asymmetrical design, weatherboarded first story, coursed wood shingle second story, and main roof and porch gables with brackets, bargeboards, and shingled siding. The SW side wing and the rear are crowned by a shingled parapet. The heavy wrap-around porch features Roman Doric columns set on brick plinths with a connecting brick balustrade which boasts concrete planters with rich foliate ornamentation. Above the entrance bay is a recessed second story porch of matching design.
Sanborn Maps suggest that the present house was a replacement or remodeling of a house built prior to 1912. The house in its present form probably dates from ca. 1917, and was designed by prominent local architect C. Gilbert Humphreys. In the 1918 city directory, Thomas and Martha Maslin were first listed at this location. He was president of the Merchants National Bank. In 1923 George C. Tudor, who was an agent for the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company, purchased the house, and it remained his family residence until his widow, Bessie, sold it in 1939 to Ernest R. and Kathryn Martin and moved next door (see #358). The Martin family retained ownership until the 1970’s. (CD, TR, SH, HSCI)