337. Thompson-Liipfert House (FY 979)
1220 Glade Street
Contributing, ca. 1916
The most impressive of the prominent houses on the Glade Street hill, the Thompson-Liipfert House is a large two-story frame dwelling with a weatherboarded first story and a decorative asbestos-shingled second story (as used on 1205 Clover Street, #322), The hipped and gabled roof has boldly projecting eaves with paired brackets and a paneled frieze, and the front gabled dormer boasts a Palladian window. Fenestration includes eight-over-one sash Windows and a French door front entrance with sidelights and transom. The handsome wrap-around porch features Roman Doric columns, a plain balustrade, a slightly projecting entrance bay, and a center bay balustraded upper deck. The house was designed by prominent local architect C. Gilbert Humphries. Like the other houses in this row, the Thompson-Liipfert House has a steep terraced front lawn and a stone retaining wall. A monumental flight of granite steps adjacent to the house leads from Glade Street to the alley on the NE side.
Mrs. Marion C. Thompson, widow of William H., was the original owner. She listed the property for taxes in 1915 and by 1918 was listed at this location in the city directory. In 1937 Bailey and Mary Liipfert listed the property for taxes, and they occupied the house until selling it in 1967. Liipfert was a judge and later associate counsel for RJR Tobacco Company (TR, SH, CD, OP)
Garage, Noncontributing:On the alley behind the house is a one-car brick garage with a pyramidal tin shingle roof which appears to have been built after 1930.